Tips for debugging ready classes [RESOLVED]

Hi, i am new to GF and to this forum and while i am learning fast, i’ve stumbled across something that i can’t seem to get past.

I’m creating a brand new form on a new page within an existing (very old) application and i’ve created a radio button element in my form and i want the options to span 2 columns. I created the element and under Field Settings->Appearance->Custom CSS Class, i have added the ready class “gf_list_2col” (no period preceding [ as in .gf_list_2col ] needed, correct? And true enough, the layout in the editor updates immediately to reflect the change, so i’m thinking that i’m good.

Then, i click ‘Preview’ to check out the form and the styling that i specified is not there. So, i’ve researched this and i pretty well understand that there’s some CSS in my larger infrastructure that is overriding my choice in the form. What i can’t figure out is how to isolate it and fix it. I’ve read some old posts around this same general topic that seem to suggest that “display: inline” and “clear: none” might be instrumental stylings to getting this working.

So, I’ve dug into the code in the Chrome Developer dashboard, found the element in question and tried creating specific styling for that element (and it’s container with similar results) to specify these two properties. Unfortunately, that doesn’t seem to have any effect, specifying the properties listed above. I know i’m in the right place because if i specify a unique ‘color’ attribute (“color: brown” for example) that changes. I seem to be unable to trigger the desired layout change in the developer tools.