Rename filename on upload to Dropbox

Hi. I am not a big PHP guy or coder. I have some very basic knowledge and I can sometimes piece things together, but I’m banging my head on this. I just don’t understand it.

I’m trying to change the filename of any files uploaded in a specific form to Dropbox using the Dropbox Add-on. I want the files to be ‘TEXT - Date - Last Name, First Name’ without changing the extension. The date and names would be entered from within the specified form.

I’ve found documentation on it here, but I’m just not understanding it. I know it needs to be added to the functions.php file, but I’m struggling with the syntax. Maybe I’m just having a brain-fart.

Any advice or tips would be helpful. Thank you.

It’s going to look something like this:

// TEXT - Date - Last Name, First Name
// apply to form 8 only.  Change 8 here to your form ID
add_filter( 'gform_dropbox_file_name_8', 'change_name', 10, 5 );
function change_name( $file_name, $form, $field_id, $entry, $feed ) {
        $ext         = new SplFileInfo( $file_name );
        $date        = rgar ( $entry, '5' );   // change 5 to the ID of your date field
        $first_name  = rgar ( $entry, '1.3' ); // change 1 to the ID of your name field if using an Advanced name field
        $last_name   = rgar ( $entry, '1.6' ); // change 1 to the ID of your name field if using an Advanced name field
        $filename    = 'TEXT - ' . $date . ' - ' . $last_name . ', ' . $first_name . '-.' . $ext;
        GFCommon::log_debug( __METHOD__ . "(): Returning filename: {$event}." );
        return $filename;
}

You will need to change the form ID and the field IDs, but I believe that will get you close.

First of all, thank you! That is great! Exactly what I’m looking for. It makes sense, I can follow it, and it appears it should work, but it doesn’t. So it must be something else that I’m not thinking of.

I’ll keep looking and see if there is some variable I’m not considering at the moment. Thank you!