How to get workflow to return to form submission if entry is rejected

I am setting up a workflow that starts with a user submitting a form. That form then has to be approved or rejected. I’m having an issue with what happens when it’s rejected. I don’t want to use the default option where the workflow is complete at that point. If the entry is rejected, I want the user to be able to update/correct their form and resubmit it for approval.

I’m sure I’m missing something obvious because I’m new to Gravity Flow, but I can’t figure it out. I’ve tried two things and neither worked:

1. I directed it to go back to ‘Start’ if rejected. I thought this would take it back to the start of the workflow, which is the form, but it didn’t. When I tested it, in the user inbox it says they are on a step that isn’t even part of the workflow. In fact, it isn’t part of any workflow.

2. I created a new step using the ‘Update Fields’ step type. I made it conditional so that this step only happens if the status of the approval step is ‘rejected’. I also directed that approval step to go to this new step if the entry was rejected. I thought this would take care of the step issue and allow the user to update the fields in their entry, but it does the same thing as the previous solution I tried. In the user’s inbox, it’s saying it’s on a step of a workflow that doesn’t exist (same exact one that showed up in my first solution).

What am I doing wrong? How do I fix it?

Here’s a photo of how the workflow is set up at the moment:

Hi @user65428e5876c73402,

A couple tips that will help get you on the right path. I’d encourage you to reach out to our support team if you want more specific help with your workflow.

• You are on the right track with the next step setting. Check out the workflow branches doc that covers how to use it effectively.