How to disable a radio button when a user starts typing into another field

I’m looking for help in disabling a radio button as soon as the user enters a value into a currency field.

I have a conditional form where fields appear once a value has been entered in the previous field. The fields consist of a currency field and a radio button and form part of a mortgage application.

The user can enter a value, such as how much their property is worth, in the currency field, or they can select a radio button that says “I don’t know”. They then move on to further questions like How much do you currently owe? with an “I don’t know” radio button. I want to hide each radio button by default and then only show it when that section is due to appear and the the user hasn’t entered any value in the currency field. As soon as they enter a value I want to hide the radio button.

Can anyone help me achieve this. I am a complete beginner with JQuery/Javascript and having looked at the documentation for Gravity forms it looks like the gform_input_change function is what I need, I just don’t know how to go about coding what I want to acheive.

Any help is greatly appreciated. I have inherited this work from another developer who has been placed on Furlough during the lockdown period.

You can set a conditional logic rule on the radio button fields to HIDE them when the previous field IS NOT and then leave the value input blank. That will be evaluated as “hide this field when the previous field has ANY data entered into it.”

Will that work for you?

Hi Chris,

I tried that and it works perfectly on the first currency/radio button field. The problem arises when the next currency/radio button field is then shown. The logic for the next field set is to show after either the first currency field has a value or the first radio button is checked.