Override default form title

I’m guessing this has been asked before, but I couldn’t find the answer anywhere.

I have a single form that I use in multiple pages/posts with my Call to Action. Because each post targets a different felt need, I’d like to have a different title for each form to override the default form title. I.e., [gravityforms id=‘1’ alternate_title=‘Custom felt need title’].

Is there a way to simply do this? I see the gform_shortcode_ACTION method but not sure if this is the best approach.

Thank you in advance.

You can use the gform_pre_render filter for that

You would test the page ID, and modify $form['title'] to be whatever you want before showing the form.

Chris,

Thank you. You said I needed to test the form id. Could I instead simply test for an optional parameter to be passed and if so, replace the title of the current form being called in the short code? Sorry, I’m still very new to Gravity Forms and how their hooks work.

You could test for whatever you like. It would look something like this:

add_filter( 'gform_pre_render', 'set_form_title' );
function set_form_title( $form ) {
	// Set form title based on some conditional test
	if ( $something == 'whatever' ) {
		$form['title'] = "My New Title";
		return $form;
	}
	return $form;
}

Chris,

Thank you very much! I’ll try that out.

Let us know if you get stuck.

Chris,

Sorry, I got stuck. Part of it is probably my lack of PHP experience.

I see the following example of shortcodes passing parameter values:

[gravityform id=1 field_values=’parameter_name1=value1&parameter_name2=value2′]

However, I haven’t been able to find how to refer to the named parameter and it’s value in the short code via PHP. Everything I’ve found appears to apply to dynamically populating fields which I don’t think is what I need. Any help is appreciated.

Shortcodes are not going to help. What code did you try based on my example? Can you share that code here?