Getting past start on Javascript GF Hooks

Hi! I’m new to GF, but an old hand at software of many kinds, including web development. I’m helping a friend who is an Elite user… I’m a coder, he’s not. No prob.

Except… I am stuck at the starting gate.
My simple goal at this point: to get ANY javascript GF “hook” to fire.
What I’ve done:

• Read lots of documentation
  • Tried lots of approaches
  • Debugged as far as seemed to make sense (Chrome dev tools, lots of “debugger;” and breakpoints)

Results so far:

• My code runs. All of the setup seems to run (I get the expected console logs, and no errors)
  • However, none of the hooks EVER triggers.

Simple Questions

• What am I missing or doing wrong?
  • Any hints on diagnostics? (For example, what’s a good way to verify that GF hooks have been properly set up?)

(FWIW, I am injecting the JavaScript using the GW Custom JavaScript plugin.)
Here’s my current test code:

console.log('setting up test');
debugger;

var formid="#gform_6";   //'#'+ jQuery('#content .entry-content form').attr('id');
var formnum="6";    // formid.replace(/[^0-9]/g,'');

jQuery(document).on('gform_post_render', function(event, form_id, current_page){
debugger;
console.log('saw post_render js');
});

console.log('set up postrender for '+formid);

debugger;
// Two ways...price chg, and every render

jQuery(document).on('gform_price_change_6', function(event, productIds, htmlInput){
debugger;
console.log('saw price change 6 via jQ');
});
gform.addFilter( 'gform_price_change', function(event, productIds, htmlInput){
    debugger;
    console.log('saw price change via addFilter');
});

console.log('A');

jQuery(document).on('gform_post_render_6', function(event, form_id, current_page){
    debugger;
    console.log('saw post render 6 via jQ');
});
gform.addFilter( 'gform_post_render', function(event, form_id, current_page){
    debugger;
    console.log('saw post render via addFilter');

});
console.log('B');

// how about simple page load?